Date: Wednesday, January 25, 2023 4:00 PM

Speakers:

  • Guibourg Delamotte (French Institute of Oriental Studies (Inalco))
  • Robert Dujarric (ICAS Co-Director)

Overview

In the past few months, the Japanese government has announced plans to significantly increase its defense budget, develop new military capabilities, and strengthen its ties with security partners.  Some observers see a paradigm shift in Japanese strategy, while others see these developments as more evolutionary than revolutionary. Professor Guibourg Delamote of Inalco and Robert Dujarric of Temple University Japan will discuss these issues and engage in a Q&A session with the audience.

Webinar Access

Register required for meeting access: 
https://temple.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJcvde-qqz4qGtOD2tYuOUjfRKv5cuUJV7nF

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

Date & Time:

Wednesday, January 25, 2023 16:00 (Tokyo)
08:00 (Paris), 15:00 (Singapore/Taipei/Beijing), 18:00 (Sydney)

This event is organized by the Institute of Contemporary Asian Studies (ICAS).

Note: All ICAS events are held in English, open to the public, and admission is free unless otherwise noted.

Speakers:

Guibourg Delamotte

French Institute of Oriental Studies (Inalco)

A French and Australian dual citizen, Dr. Guibourg Delamotte is Professor (MCF HDR, habilitated to supervise research) of Political science at the Japanese studies department of the French Institute of Oriental Studies (Inalco). She lectured at Sciences Po Paris for 7 years. She teaches International relations, Japanese politics and classes on Contemporary Japan. Her “Habilitation to supervise research” (HDR, 2016), which she defended at Sciences Po, was on Japanese democracy. Her PhD dissertation (Ecole des Hautes études en sciences sociales), on Japanese defence policy (2007), received the Shibusawa-Claudel Award (2008). She graduated from the University of Oxford (M. Jur), Paris 2-Panthéon-Assas (M. Law), Inalco (Japanese), and SciencesPo Paris (BA, Masters in IR).


Robert Dujarric

ICAS Co-Director

Robert Dujarric Robert Dujarric is Co-Director of TUJ's Institute of Contemporary Asian Studies (ICAS). He worked in banking in the US, Europe and Asia, prior to joining a think tank in Washington in 1993. He moved to Tokyo in 2004 as a Council on Foreign Relations (Hitachi) International Affairs Fellow, joining TUJ in 2007. He is a Harvard College graduate and holds an MBA from Yale University. He authored and edited several books.