An Encounter in Non-Standard Philosophy: Laruelle and the Kyoto School

This conference examines themes, methods, and constructive possibilities linking François Laruelle’s non-standard philosophy with the work of the philosophers of the Kyoto School including but not limited to Kitarō Nishida, Hajime Tanabe, Jun Tosaka, Keiji Nishitani, and Miki Kiyoshi. Topics for proposed papers are free to focus on metaphysical, epistemological, ethical, or aesthetic questions and may involve comparative studies of Laruelle and specific thinkers from the Kyoto School regarding such themes as:

  • Shinran Buddhism
  • Basho
  • Nothingness
  • Zen
  • Mu
  • Radical Immanence
  • Sufficient Philosophy
  • Philosophical Decision
  • The Real and the One

KEYNOTE SPEAKER: Anne-Françoise Schmid (Paris Tech)
The conference will be held online via Zoom, please use the registration link provided. Papers presented at the conference will be eligible for publication in a proposed edited volume. Additional contributions to the volume will be solicited after the event.
This conference is organized by Professor Jordanco Sekulovski (TUJ) and Professor Rocco Gangle (Endicott College, US).

Date:
January 8, 9 & 10, 2021
Time:
Friday, January 8th, 2021
JST 9pm (Japan Standard Time ASIA)
EST 7am (Eastern Standard Time US)
CET 1pm (European Standard Time Paris/Berlin EU)
Saturday, January 9th and Sunday, January 10th, 2021
JST 7pm (Japan Standard Time ASIA)
EST 5am (Eastern Standard Time US)
CET 11am (European Standard Time Paris/Berlin EU)
Venue:
Online (Zoom)
Admission:
Free
Registration:
Register here
Contact Us: philseries@tuj.temple.edu
Follow us on Twitter: @TUJPhil
TUJ PHILOSOPHY LECTURE SERIES WEB: https://sites.temple.edu/tujphilseries/

The TUJ Philosophy Lecture Series is a non-profit forum of Temple University, Japan Campus (TUJ) for the promotion of critical thinking. The lectures are free, open to the public, and feature speakers from various universities around the world. The lecture series is a great way to learn about recent research in philosophy and in the humanities as a whole.

One thought on “An Encounter in Non-Standard Philosophy: Laruelle and the Kyoto School

Comments are closed.

Popular News