Spring 2016 Academic Calendar

Tuesday, January 12 - Wednesday, April 20

Date Description
Tuesday, January 5 -
Saturday, January 9

New Student Orientation Week

Tuesday, January 12

Semester Begins

Monday, January 18 (17:00)

Last Day to Add a Course

Monday, January 25 (17:00)

Last Day to Drop a Course and Receive a Tuition Credit

A course dropped before the deadline will not be recorded. After this date, a student's transcript will reflect the course name and a "W" mark indicating withdrawal from the course.

Students may drop a course online via Self-Service Banner (SSB) until 13:00 on this date. Thereafter students must request to drop a course in person at the Academic Advising Center or the Registrar's Office.

Monday, January 25

Deadline for Leave of Absence (LOA) Petition

Students who want to petition for Leave of Absence must submit the petition form to the Academic Advising Center by this date. No late application will be accepted.

Tuesday, January 26

Course Withdrawal Begins

Students may withdraw from a course online via Self-Service Banner (SSB) from the afternoon of this date and forward until the Last Day to Withdraw from a Course.

A processing fee of 5,400 yen will be charged each time students process course withdrawal.

Tuition for a withdrawn course is not refundable.

Wednesday, February 17

Major Declaration Application Deadline

Students must be matriculated in the appropriate college, in good academic standing, and otherwise qualified for the major program for which they are applying. A major must be declared before 45 credits are earned.

Thursday, March 3

Undergraduate Summer 2016 Scholarship Application Deadline

Tuesday, March 15

Priority Registration for Summer 2016 Begins

If students' initial registration is processed after 17:00 on Tuesday April 12, a late registration fee of 5,400 yen will be charged.

Thursday, March 17 (17:00)

Last Day to Withdraw from a Course

Students may withdraw from a course online via Self-Service Banner (SSB) until 13:00 on this date. Thereafter, students must request to withdraw from a course in person at the Academic Advising Center or the Registrar's Office.

Thursday, March 17

Deadline for Petition for Non-Graduates to Attend University Commencement Ceremony

Students who would like to attend University Commencement in June 2016 as non-graduates must submit an official petition to the Academic Advising Center. No late application will be accepted.

Wednesday, March 30

Priority Registration for Fall 2016 Begins

If students' initial registration is processed after 17:00 on Tuesday July 26, a late registration fee of 5,400 yen will be charged.

Monday, April 11

Last Day of Regular Undergraduate Classes

Monday, April 11

Deadline for Application for August (Summer 2016) Graduation

Tuesday, April 12 - Wednesday, April 13

Study Days

Thursday, April 14

Final Examinations Begin

Wednesday, April 20

Final Examinations End

Friday, May 6

Diploma Date

Sunday, June 5

University Commencement (Graduation Ceremony)

Graduates from Summer 2015, Fall 2015, and Spring 2016 will be invited.

Undergraduate Holidays

Thursday, February 11
National Founding Day
Friday, February 12
Undergraduate Holiday
Wednesday, March 2
Undergraduate Holiday
Monday, March 21
Vernal Equinox Day, Replacement Holiday
Tuesday, March 22
Undergraduate Holiday