Fall 2016 Academic Calendar

Monday, August 29 - Wednesday, December 7

Date Description
Thursday, August 18 -
Friday, August 26

New Student Orientation Week

Monday, August 29

Semester Begins

Friday, September 2 (17:00)

Last Day to Add a Course

Friday, September 9 (17:00)

Last Day to Drop a Course and Receive a Tuition Credit

A course dropped before the deadline will not be recorded. After this date, a student's transcript will reflect the course name and a "W" mark indicating withdrawal from the course.

Students may drop a course online via Self-Service Banner (SSB) until 13:00 on this date. Thereafter students must request to drop a course in person at the Academic Advising Center or the Registrar's Office.

Friday, September 9

Deadline for Leave of Absence (LOA) Petition

Students who want to petition for Leave of Absence must submit the petition form to the Academic Advising Center by this date. No late application will be accepted.

Saturday, September 10

Course Withdrawal Begins

Students may withdraw from a course online via Self-Service Banner (SSB) from the afternoon of this date and forward until the Last Day to Withdraw from a Course.

Tuition for a withdrawn course is not refundable.

Tuesday, October 4

Major Declaration Application Deadline

Students must be matriculated in the appropriate college, in good academic standing, and otherwise qualified for the major program for which they are applying. A major must be declared before 45 credits are earned.

Wednesday, October 19

Undergraduate Spring 2017 Scholarship Application Deadline

Wednesday, November 2

Priority Registration for Spring 2017 Begins

If students' initial registration is processed after 17:00 of Tuesday November 29, a late registration fee of 5,400 yen will be charged.

Wednesday, November 2 (17:00)

Last Day to Withdraw from a Course

Students may withdraw from a course online via Self-Service Banner (SSB) until 13:00 on this date. Thereafter, students must request to withdraw from a course in person at the Academic Advising Center or the Registrar's Office.

Monday, November 28

Last Day of Regular Undergraduate Classes

Monday, November 28

Deadline for Application for May (Spring 2017) Graduation

Tuesday, November 29 - Wednesday, November 30

Study Days

Thursday, December 1

Final Examinations Begin

Wednesday, December 7

Final Examinations End

Thursday, December 22

Diploma Date

Undergraduate Holidays

Monday, September 19
Respect for the Aged Day
Thursday, September 22
Autumnal Equinox Day
Monday, October 10
Health Sports Day
Thursday, November 3
Culture Day
Friday, November 4
Undergraduate Holiday
Wednesday, November 23
Labor Thanksgiving Day